Transparency vs. TMI: Know the Difference

Marketers are constantly reminded to be transparent — see for yourself. Google the phrase “marketers need to be transparent” and you’ll see more than 600,000 results ranging from “Why Transparency Is The New Marketing” to “5 Brands That Employed Transparency in Marketing — and Won.”

And I wholeheartedly agree. But there’s also a line you must remember not to cross as a marketer. And that line is from transparency to TMI … too much information.

Late last week, my friend Rachel, who works for a New York nonprofit, sent me an email she received from a marketing services company. She thought the subject line was interesting, but once opened, found the message to be wordy, overly personal and meandering. She wanted my “professional” take on it.

I read through it, but said that without seeing other emails from this company, I couldn’t tell if that was just the company’s voice, or if somebody was allowed to send something without further, and necessary, review. So Rachel sent me a few more emails. And this email, with the subject line, “I could use your help” stopped me in my tracks.

Help email

The image above shows the first two-thirds of the email, which is enough for this purpose. The first two paragraphs are the most problematic:

I’m reaching out to you today to ask for your help. I’m going to be honest even though this is hard to say out loud – but we had two pretty big projects fall through at the last minute this month. Two projects that we had cleared our pipeline to handle, and even hired new staff to support. Unfortunately, those clients had other concerns that they needed to attend – for completely understandable reasons, but that leaves us with a bunch of empty space right now that we need to fill with new work.

So we’re asking you to think of anyone you may know who might be interested in hiring us to help them get the marketing results they want.

Look, I get it. This kind of thing has happened to everyone. Projects fall through and it’s disappointing, frustrating and financially scary. No one wants business to slip through their fingers, especially if it seems to have happened despite your best efforts.

But you don’t email, seemingly, your entire subscriber base, asking for referrals. Because I seriously doubt the majority of this marketer’s email subscribers have done business with them previously, and it’s weird asking strangers for referrals.

I found this messaging tactic to be so strange that I emailed some of Target Marketing’s good friends for feedback (maybe I was missing something that was actually genius?).

Carolyn Goodman, one of our bloggers and president/Creative Director of Goodman Marketing Partners, got back to me right away, and I found her take on the email to be very interesting.

Source: http://www.targetmarketingmag.com/

Kirkwood Direct is largest service provider that offers comprehensive and effective end-to-end direct marketing communications solutions to their clients. It offers various services like Data Management/ Data Acquisition, Commercial Printing, Mailing Services, E-marketing and many more. Call (978) 642-0300 or visit site.

Leave a Reply

